SMITHSONIAN 12-MONTH POSTGRADUATE FELLOWSHIPS IN CONSERVATION OF MUSEUM COLLECTIONS

Posted on Oct 7, 2014

SCCinternsThe Smithsonian’s Office of Fellowships and Internships has announced one-year fellowships for recent graduates of masters programs in art and archaeological conservation (or the equivalent) to conduct research and gain further training in Smithsonian conservation laboratories for conservation of museum collections. Researchers in conservation science topics, including those at the postdoctoral level, are also encouraged to apply. The fellowship begins in the fall of 2015. A stipend of $37,700 is being offered at the postgraduate level and $48,000 at the postdoctoral level, plus a research allowance up to $4,000. While 12-month fellowship proposals are preferred, applications for projects of shorter duration (between 3-12 months) are acceptable, with a commensurate reduction to the stipend amounts. The prospective fellow must first contact the conservator or scientist with whom he or she would like to work. If the potential supervisor confirms that candidacy is suitable, application must be made through the Office of Fellowships and Internships by December 1, 2014. Program guidelines and instructions for application are available at http://www.smithsonianofi.com/fellowship-opportunities/smithsonian-postgraduate-fellowships-in-conservation-of-museum-collections-program/. As one of the conservation laboratories in which a fellowship is offered, the Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute (MCI) offers postings for treatment and research projects benefiting Smithsonian collections that make use of MCI’s excellent analytical capabilities (http://www.si.edu/mci/). Contact:

Mary Ballard, Senior Textiles Conservator, 301-238-1210, ballardm@smsi.edu
A. Elena Charola, Research Scientist (biodeterioration, stone), 301-238-1213, charolaa@si.edu
Paula T. DePriest, Deputy Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1206, depriestp@si.edu
Janet G. Douglas, Head of Technical Studies (analysis of cultural heritage), 301-238-1238, douglja@si.edu
Christine France, Physical Scientist (stable isotopes), 301-238-1261, francec@si.edu
Carol Grissom, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1236, grissomc@si.edu
Jessica S. Johnson, Head of Conservation (archaeological materials), 301-238-1218, johnsonjs@si.edu
Robert J. Koestler, Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1205, koestlerr@si.edu
Nicole Little, Physical Scientist (ICP-MS, XRD, SEM-EDS), 301-238-1243, littlen@si.edu
Odile Madden, Research Scientist (modern materials, plastic, Raman spectroscopy), 301-238-1257, maddeno@si.edu
Dawn Rogala, Paintings Conservator (modern paints, artists’ materials research/archives), 301-238-1255, rogalad@si.edu
Jia-Sun Tsang, Senior Paintings Conservator (research and treatment of modern and contemporary art), 301-238-1231, tsangj@si.edu
Ed Vicenzi, Research Scientist (microchemistry/microscopy), 301-238-1215, vicenzie@si.edu

Fellows may also be hosted in the conservation laboratories of other Smithsonian museums, with the possibility of additional facilities for analytical work available at MCI. The conservator contacts for these museums are listed below:

Janice Ellis, National Museum of American History (202-633-3623; ellisjs@si.edu) for books and paper
Sunae Park Evans, National Museum of American History (202-633-3629; evanssu@si.edu) for costumes
Malcolm Collum, National Air and Space Museum (703-572-4361; collumm@si.edu) for objects
Tiarna Doherty, Smithsonian American Art Museum (202-633-5802; dohertyt@si.edu) for colonial to contemporary paintings, paper, objects, and frames
Catharine Hawks, National Museum of Natural History (202-633-0835; hawksc@si.edu) for natural history objects
Greta Hansen, National Museum of Natural History (301-238-1306; hanseng@si.edu) for anthropological objects
Andrew Hare, Freer and Sackler Galleries (202-633-0370; harean@si.edu) for objects, paper, and Asian paintings; and conservation science
Susan Lake, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (202-633-2731; lakes@si.edu) for modern materials
Nora Lockshin, Smithsonian Institution Archives (202-633-5913; lockshinn@si.edu) for archives, books, and paper
Dana Moffett, National Museum of African Art (202-633-4614; moffettd@si.edu) for objects
Lou Molnar, National Portrait Gallery (202-633-5822; molnarl@si.edu) for paintings and paper
Beth Richwine, National Museum of American History (202-633-3639; richwineb@si.edu) for objects
Suzanne Thomassen-Krauss, National Museum of American History (202-633-3347; thomassenkrauss@si.edu) for textiles