2016 Summer Internships at Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute

Posted on Dec 14, 2015

Dawn-Rogala-2The Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute (MCI) is offering short-term opportunities to work on research and conservation projects with staff members.  The internships are intended mainly for the summer of 2016, but consideration will be given to projects at other times during the year. Preference will be given to applicants currently enrolled in conservation training programs or graduate students in related subjects.  A stipend may be offered for a period of up to 10 weeks.  Projects will be supervised by the following staff members, whom applicants are urged to contact in advance of application:

Mary Ballard
Senior Textiles Conservator
301-238-1210
ballardm@si.edu

A. Elena Charola
Research Scientist (biodeterioration, stone)
301-238-1213
charolaa@si.edu

Paula DePriest
Deputy Director (biodeterioration)
301-238-1206
depriestp@si.edu

Janet G. Douglas
Head of Technical Studies (analysis of cultural heritage)
301-238-1238
douglja@si.edu

Christine France
Research Physical Scientist (stable isotopes)
301-238-1261
francec@si.edu

Carol Grissom
Senior Objects Conservator
301-238-1236
grissomc@si.edu

Jessica S. Johnson
Head of Conservation (disaster management and recovery training)
301-238-1218
johnsonjs@si.edu

Rebecca Kaczkowski
Preventive Conservator
301-238-1242
kaczkowskir@si.edu

Gwenaelle Kavich
Conservation Scientist (technical studies: XRF, FTIR, Py-GC-MS)
301-238-1265
kavichgm@si.edu

Robert Koestler
Director (biodeterioration)
301-238-1205
koestlerr@si.edu

Thomas Lam
Physical Scientist (technical studies: SEM-EDS, XRF)
lamt@si.edu (after January 25)
301-238-1238

Nicole Little
Physical Scientist (technical studies: ICP-MS, XRD)
301-238-1243
littlen@si.edu

Odile Madden
Research Scientist (modern materials, plastic, Raman spectroscopy)
301-238-1257
maddeno@si.edu

Dawn Rogala
Paintings Conservator (modern paints, artists’ materials research/archives)
301-238-1255
rogalad@si.edu

Jia-Sun Tsang
Senior Paintings Conservator (modern and contemporary art conservation)
301-238-1231
tsangj@si.edu

Ed Vicenzi
Research Scientist (spectroscopic imaging/microscopy)
301-238-1215
vicenzie@si.edu

E. Keats Webb
Digital Imaging Specialist (advanced imaging)
301-238-1212
webbekeats@si.edu

Applications must be made on line through SOLAA https://solaa.si.edu/solaa/SOLAAHome.html by February 25, 2016; select the option for the Museum Conservation (MCI) Internship Program.

Undergraduates may also apply separately for a different MCI internship, Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Archaeological and Museum Conservation Science (see http://www.si.edu/mci/english/professional_development/TechInternships.html). Selected candidates will be interviewed by telephone, although MCI visits are welcome.